Hurricane Irene Time Lapse Movie

GOES-13 satellite saw Hurricane Irene entering the Bahamas on August 24, 2011 at 1302 UTC (9:02 a.m. EDT).48 hours of imagery from the GOES 13 satellite in one movie sequence. Shows development and strengthening over the path. The animation includes sped up infrared and visible frames of data from the GOES-13 satellite and is squeezed down to 36 seconds. The movie shows satellite imagery that was captured in 15 minute intervals from August 22 at 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 UTC) until August 24 at 8:40 a.m. EDT shows Irene moving over Puerto Rico, Hispaniola and toward the southeastern Bahamas. Irene’s eye becomes visible on August 24 at 0055 UTC (Aug. 23 at 8:55 p.m. EDT).

Irene became a major hurricane at 8 a.m. EDT today, August 24, 2011 as it headed toward the Crooked and Acklins Islands in the Bahamas. Irene’s maximum sustained winds had increased to 115 mph (186 kmh) making Category three status. Additional strengthening is forecast by the National Hurricane Center (NHC). See the movie:

GOES-13 satellite imagery in 15 minute intervals from August 22 at 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 UTC) until August 24 at 8:40 a.m. EDT shows Irene moving over Puerto Rico, Hispaniola and toward the southeastern Bahamas. Irene’s eye becomes visible on August 24 at 0055 UTC (Aug. 23 at 8:55 p.m. EDT).

Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

9 thoughts on “Hurricane Irene Time Lapse Movie

  1. Something else to look at. Starting around the 19 sec mark look at the Florida peninsula and watch a wave of energy rush across to the west.

  2. Not the sunrise. There was a distinct impulse, maybe two just off Ga coast above FL, and if you follow it closely a small section of the impulse almost makes it just south of Louisiana.
    Another thing that seemed odd about the storm was that something was too symmetrical about the bands. It seemed to be very organized (all the very distinct and multiple spiraling bands) on a large scale and that symmetry stayed together pretty well even when the storm weakened considerably, and that seemed a bit odd. However, can’t quite put my finger on why I though this was odd.

Comments are closed.